Eight Tips for Writing Dialogue By Ginny Wiehardt

In an attempt to not just write blocks of text I’ve realized theres alot of polishing I need to do. So one helpful article I found was written by the wonderful Ginny Wiehardt. Wiehardt received her Bachelor of Arts in English from the University of Texas at Austin and an MFA in poetry and fiction from the Michener Center for Writers and she currently teaches people of all ages through CUNY, the Pratt Institute, and the Poets House. I love finding out about the authors, and I’ll always try to put a little bit of a background with each post if I can find it.

Her eight tips for writing helped me realize that I was just including way too much information at once in my novel. It’s better to show not tell. She writes, “Writing dialogue — realistic dialogue, anyway — does not come easily to everyone. Done well, dialogue advances the story and fleshes out the characters while providing a break from straight exposition.

However, just as realistic dialogue is one of the most powerful tools at a writer’s disposal, nothing pulls the reader out of a story faster than bad dialogue. It takes time to develop a good ear, but noting these simple rules and obvious pitfalls can make a huge difference.”

I highly recommend reading this article if you’re having issues with your dialogue when writing. Something I’ve learned in poetry writing from my last Creative Writing teacher. Make every word strong, if your sentence isn’t strong or is unnecessary don’t write it. I don’t want to read a half of a page of the main protagonist saying ‘hello,’ ‘how was your day,’ ‘oh fine yours?’ unless its pertanent to know. It’s harsh but wouldn’t you be irritated by that small talk in a book too?

2 thoughts on “Eight Tips for Writing Dialogue By Ginny Wiehardt

Leave a Note

