Proof of Birth

I have a scar

From when I was young

melted crayons were tar

and my mother still sung,

 

The curtains caught first,

Then the couch

This is why I don’t wear skirts

And I slouch

 

No, I lied.

 

It’s from basketball

My head hit second

Right after my fall

The cuts could never mend

 

I was bald for a year,

They let me wear a cap,

In high school I didn’t cheer,

Sorry to cry, I’m such a sap.

 

No, I lied again.

 

Its pathological you know

You might be shocked

It’s been there’s since I was born, No.

I’ll never tell, that memory is locked.

 —

Published in the 2013 Mid Rivers Review Magazine of St. Charles Community College

 

Leave a Note

